Hansen Family Award

Basic Medical Research

The Hansen Family Award is given to pioneer achievements in basic medical research that have the potential to improve healthcare and the treatment of illnesses in the long term.


Prof. Dr. Emmanuelle Charpentier received the Hansen Family Award in 2015 for the development of a revolutionary technology for editing genomes.

The Bayer Science & Education Foundation confers this award every two years to researchers in the German-speaking region. It is endowed with a € 75,000 prize. Breakthroughs in the fields of medical chemistry, human biology & genetics, drug research, red biotechnology, genetic engineering, cell physiology, structural biology and bioinformatics are considered for the award.

The award was endowed by the former Bayer CEO Dr. Kurt Hansen in 2000. Hansen was the CEO of Bayer AG from 1962 to 1974. Under his leadership, the international positioning of the Group was intensively advanced, particularly in non-European countries.
The trained chemist considered excellent basic research and the promotion of scientific talents as crucial elements for the long-term success of the company.

The winners of the prize


Prof. Dr. Jens Brüning
Max Planck Institute for Metabolism Research, Cologne

Prof. Dr. med. Matthias H. Tschöp
Helmholtz Diabetes Center, Munich

News release (PDF 31 KB)


Prof. Dr. Emmanuelle Charpentier
Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research, Braunschweig


Prof. Dr. Hans-Georg Rammensee
Eberhard-Karls-Universität, Tübingen

Prof. Rammensee Searches for Anticancer Vaccine (4:32 Min.)


Prof. Dr. Stefan W. Hell
Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen
German Cancer Research Center, Heidelberg

News release (PDF 36 KB)

Nobel Prize Winner for Chemistry 2014 - Stefan Hell (6:02 Min.)

News release (PDF 25 KB)


Prof. Dr. Patrick Cramer
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich


Prof. Dr. Magdalena Götz
Institute for Stem-cell research, Neuherberg


Privatdozent Dr. Rüdiger Klein
Max-Planck Institute for Neurobiology, Martinsried

News release (PDF 67 KB)


Prof. Dr. Ralf Baumeister
Albert-Ludwig University of Fribourg

Prof. Dr. Christian Haass
Ludwig Maximilians University of Munic


Prof. Dr. Thomas J. Jentsch
Molecular Neurobiology Center, Hamburg