Talent Awards

Supporting Young Researchers

Promoting creative junior researchers in the early stages of their careers is the goal of the Early Excellence in Science Award and the Bayer Thrombosis Research Award.

EESA Verleihung

Prof. Dr. Abigail G. Doyle, recipient of the Bayer Early Excellence in Science Award in 2014. Her team developed methods that allow for an efficient synthesis of fluorine molecules.

The Early Excellence in Science Award is conferred annually to biologists, chemists and medical researchers who have completed their PhD within the last five years. It recognizes young scientists who have contributed new insights to their fields with their research. The award is endowed with € 10,000 per category.

With the Thrombosis Research Award, the Bayer Foundations recognize junior researchers for their outstanding achievements in basic and clinical research on thrombosis every two years. The award is endowed with € 30,000.

The winners of the Early Excellence in Science Award


Dr. Theresa Bunse, DKFZ Heidelberg in the category “Medical Sciences”

Dr. Christopher Aylett, ETH Zurich (Switzerland) in the category “Biology”

Dr. Bill Morandi, Max Planck Institute for Kohleforschung in the category “Chemistry”


Dr. med. Marie-Luise Berres, University Hospital of RWTH Aachen in the category “Medical Sciences”

Prof. Cigall Kadoch MD, Harvard Medical School (USA) in the category “Biology”

Prof. Dr. Tanja Gaich, University of Konstanz in the category “Chemistry”


Dr. Javier Fernandez, Harvard University (USA) in the category “Materials”

Dr. Steven Spoel, University of Edinburgh (UK) in the category "Biology“

Prof. Dr. Abigail Doyle, Princeton University (USA) in the category “Chemistry”


Dr. Volker Presser, INM – Leibniz Institute for New Materials Saarbrücken in the category "Materials"

Dr. med. Christiane Opitz, DKFZ Heidelberg in the category "Biology"

Dr. Nuno Maulide, MPI for Carbon Research Mülheim in the category "Chemistry"


Prof. Dr. Arne Thomas, Technical University Berlin in the category "Materials"

Dr. Cristobal Uauy, John Innes Center in Norwich, Great Britain in the category "Biology"

Dr. Andreas Bender, University of Cambridge, Great Britain in the category "Chemistry"


Dr. Andreas Walther, Aalto University, Helsinki, Finland in the category "Materials"

Prof. Dr. Oliver Daumke, Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine, Berlin in the category "Biology"

Prof. Dr. Nicolai Cramer, École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland in the category "Chemistry"


Dr. Jürgen Groll, RWTH Aachen in the category "Materials"

Dr. Noriyuki Nishimura, University of California, San Diego, USA in the category "Biology"

Dr. Tobias Ritter, Harvard University, USA in the category "Chemistry"

The winners of the Thrombosis Research Award


Dr. David Seiffge

Basel University Hospital, Stroke research group in the Department of Neurology

News Release


Dr. Krystin Krauel
Ernst-Moritz-Arndt University Greifswald


Dr. rer. nat. Markus Bender
University Hospital Würzburg, Rudolf Virchow center, Department of experimental Biomedicine

News Release (PDF 26 KB)